Thoughts

How I got rid of my neck pain

Leena started to tell her friends, “I had an uneasiness with my neck this morning. It felt very stiff.

I couldn’t do the usual movements without pain. To see or talk to the person on my right or left, I had to turn my whole self!!!!

I told Mom about my problem and that I wished to take that day off from college. But Mom was not at all convinced and asked me to get ready for college. Angry with her, I went straight to my room and started getting ready.

Doing my hair itself was so difficult !!!! I was very upset.

I came near the dining table and pulled a chair to have my breakfast when Mom and Dad being doctors started giving their respective prescriptions orally.

Dad was sitting in drawing room and Mom was in the kitchen. Dad called me and I said turning to his side with great difficulty that I was eating and it was difficult for me to turn to his side because of my stiff neck.

He then said it would be because of the cold climate and then asked me to inhale steam before leaving.

Then came Mom’s voice ” It’s not the cold weather it’s her pillows!!

I turned towards her again with difficulty. She continued, “I have told her thousand times not to use a pillow while sleeping. It is not good for the posture. But she can’t sleep without two pillows!!!” “How can she not have a neck pain!!!

Then came Dad’s voice, ” It’s ok to use a pillow dear specially when you have cold related difficulties”

In reply to this came Mom’s voice,” I knew you would say this and support her. It’s as if a rule here to go against my opinion!!”

“Mom please.. now don’t start” I requested

Mom and Dad had successfully completed 35 years of their marriage arguing, crying, fighting with and for each other and ofcourse loving and missing each other.

My sister who was 15 years elder to me was married 5 years ago.

After her marriage I had to deal with this commotion all alone. Mom would have several plans regarding several things and Dad would have several objections to it and Mom never did anything without Dad’s approval. Once they started arguing, the room would turn into a tennis court room with I being the refree. Both of them will start to dump their justifications into my ears. It was equivalent to watching tennis. I had to keep my neck busy…turning left and right.

Mom would justify her stand and then Dad would start with his. I would sit there for half an hour and if it did not solve by then I would just walk towards my room and hit the bed with the pillows on my head.

After that short nap, things would would have taken a miraculous turn and I would see Mom and Dad going on with their activities as if nothing happened. They would be communicating with each other as if nothing happened!!!

This has been the case for the past 35 years…..I am sure!!!!

Today was no exception. Mom and Dad started their show and I had to turn to Mom’s side when she talked and then to Dad’s when it was his turn.

Yes!!!the tennis game started!!!

And my sick neck was put into action.

This continued for about 15 minutes when I hit the Jackpot!!!

My neck pain was gone!!!!

I interrupted both of them expressing my gratitude.

They did it…. They were doctors after all!!!!

3 thoughts on “How I got rid of my neck pain”

Leave a comment